Sign up for Our Newsletter

Department of Music

MB 201
University of Arkansas
Fayetteville AR 72701

Phone: 479-575-4701
Music Fax: 479-575-5409
Band Fax: 479-575-5212


facebook facebook


  • Congratulations to our 2014 Honors Recital Competition Winners: 
    Melis Soyarslan–piano
    Brice Smith–flute
    Judd Burns–tenor
    Elliot Green–trombone
    Sarah Busch and Chase Neely–flute & percussion duo
    Paxton Taylor–marimba
    Mycah Kettner–guitar
    Yudai Hironaka–euphonium

  • Congratulations toMarissa Johnson Marissa Johnson who won second prize at the Midwest Double Reed Society’s Annual Young Artist Competition held in Norman, Oklahoma on February 16th. Marissa is a member of the bassoon studio of Dr. Lia Uribe.

  • Congratulations to UA Finalists at Arkansas State Competition of the National Assoc. of Teachers of Singing (NATS) held March 1st at John Brown University.
    Leanne Scaggs – 1st Place, Advanced Women’s Category
    Amanda Brooks & Stephanie Murry (Tied) – 2nd Place, Advanced Women’s Category
    Jennifer Garrison - 2nd Place, Junior Women’s Category
    Daniel Salls – 2nd Place, Advanced Men’s Category
    Morgan Aldridge – 3rd Place, Sophomore Women’s Category

A Message from the Director

Rhonda MainsWelcome to the website of the Music Department at the University of Arkansas! We are pleased that you have decided to visit.

We are proud of our talented and dedicated faculty whose mission is to enrich and inspire the human mind and spirit through the pursuit of excellence in creative activity, research, teaching, and performance. We are a multi-disciplinary department within the J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences. Students may pursue academic and professional training in performance, music education, composition, music history, music theory, ethnomusicology and music business.


Parking Information

The most convenient parking for visitors to the Music Building, Stella Boyle Smith Concert Hall and the Lewis E. Eply Jr., Band Building is the Stadium Parking Garage. 

Prior to 5 P.M. visitors will need to pay to park. There are pay booths near the elevators. Parking can be paid by cash or Razorbucks. The machines do not give change. Credit cards are no longer accepted. There is also a new option to use your cell phone to pay for parking. Go to for more information about the cell phone option. After 5 P.M. parking in the Stadium Garage is free. Be careful to observe all signs about parking restrictions.

If you would like to drop off or pick up someone from the Music Building, turn right off of Dickson Street just past the Greek Theater onto Ozark Ave. which curves in front of one of the entrances to the Music Building.

- Stadium Drive/Fine Arts Center parking garage map
Campus Parking map

Transit and parking website


View Stadium Drive/Fine Arts Center Parking Garage in a larger map

The most convenient parking for visitors to the Music Building, Stella Boyle Smith Concert Hall and the Lewis E. Eply Jr., Band Building is the Stadium Parking Garage.

From I-540 to the Stadium Parking Garage, take Hwy 62/Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd east. Turn left on Razorback Rd. From Razorback Rd. turn right on Meadow Street. Turn left onto Stadium Dr. when Meadow Street dead-ends. The Stadium Garage will be on your right across from the football stadium.

- Stadium Drive/Fine Arts Center parking garage map & directions
- Walking directions from the Stadium garage to the music building
Campus Parking map
Transit and parking website

Piano Tuning Request

Stay Connected...

facebook Twitter Flickr RSS Feed YouTube

525 Old Main
University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, Arkansas 72701