UArkMusic

CONTENTS

text that is bolded and underlined is a hyperlink or bookmark that can be clicked or tapped for more information

View the program

Upcoming events

Your support matters

STAY CONNECTED

Sign up for newsletter

find us on social media

Facebook

Instagram

Twitter

YouTube

ABOUT MUSIC

The University of Arkansas is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Music and the Department of Music is housed within the Fulbright College of Arts & Sciences.

Home to over 300 music students and fifty faculty members, we offer a variety of degree programs at the undergraduate and graduate levels.

Department faculty and students perform over 400 concerts per year, on and off campus. Large concerts are performed at the 600-seat Faulkner Performing Arts Center that opened in 2015. Chamber and solo recitals are primarily presented at the 200-seat Stella Boyle Smith Concert Hall, which began a full renovation December 2022 and should reopen in spring 2025.

For more information, find us on social media or contact us at (479) 575-4701, email us at music@uark.edu, or visit music.uark.edu.





Download accessible copy of this program

UA PERCUSSION ENSEMBLE

Directed by Chalon Ragsdale, Fernando Valencia and Christopher Scherer

7:30pm, Monday, November 11, 2024 Faulkner Performing Arts Center University of Arkansas

PROGRAM

Perpetulum 3 (2018)

Philip Glass (b. 1937)

Thomas Baker, Roxee Boyd, Nicholas Soderquist, Miles Wheeler

Shepherd's Hey (1913-18)

Percy Grainger (1882-1961) Arr. Chalon Ragsdale (b. 1952)

Irish Tune from County Derry (1902)

Percy Grainger (1882-1961) Arr. Chalon Ragsdale

From "Stalin's Piano" (2017) - The Art of Agony: Percy Grainger (his voice as music)

Robert Davidson (b. 1965)

Arr. Chalon Ragsdale, Fernando Valencia, and Yoshio Yamashita Lewis Clark, piano

INTERMISSION

Rialto Ripples (2015)

George Gershwin (1898-1937)

Arr. Gordon Peters (1931-2023)

Members of the University of Arkansas Adult Percussion Ensemble (UAAPE)

Trap Door (2015)

Ralph Hicks (b. 1983)

Members of the MUED 13701 Class Percussion

Percussion Music (1953)

Michael Colgrass (1932-2018)

11.

Ш

Nicholas Soderquist, conductor

Angelis Lucis (2024)

Yoshio Yamashita (b. 2000)

- II. Above the clouds, on wings of dreams
- I. A flame extinguished in this unquiet darkness

Catching Shadows (sextet version) (2013)

Ivan Trevino (b. 1983)

PERSONNEL

University of Arkansas Percussion Ensemble

Thomas Baker*

Roxee Boyd*

Jillian Mills

Elizabeth Show

Nicholas Soderquist*

Ezra Taylor

Aubrey Turner

Jacob Werfelmann

Aundre Wesley*

Ben Wheeler

Miles Wheeler*

Cole Willems

Yoshio Yamashita*

Bryson Yeager

Allison Young

Lewis clark, piano

* - Graduate Students

University of Arkansas Adult Percussion Ensemble

Roxee Boyd

Lynn Francis

Amy Hinkson

Nicholas Soderquist (Director)

Jackie Warren

MUED 13701 Class Members

Logan Ballard

Cadence Davis

Paige Fox

Jackson Joyce

Abby Lawson

Kaden Mays

Jackson Mettey

Emily Powers

Jill Russell

Mackenzie Schofield

Andrew Weidman

Allison Young