UArkMusic

CONTENTS

text that is bolded and underlined is a hyperlink or bookmark that can be clicked or tapped for more information

View the program

Upcoming events

Your support matters

STAY CONNECTED

Sign up for newsletter

find us on social media

Facebook

Instagram

Twitter

YouTube

ABOUT MUSIC

The University of Arkansas is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Music and the Department of Music is housed within the Fulbright College of Arts & Sciences.

Home to over 300 music students and fifty faculty members, we offer a variety of degree programs at the undergraduate and graduate levels.

Department faculty and students perform over 400 concerts per year, on and off campus. Large concerts are performed at the 600-seat Faulkner Performing Arts Center that opened in 2015. Chamber and solo recitals are primarily presented at the 200-seat Stella Boyle Smith Concert Hall, which is slated for a full renovation starting December 2022.

For more information, find us on social media or contact us at (479) 575-4701, email us at music@uark.edu, or visit music.uark.edu.





Download accessible copy of this program

UA PERCUSSION ENSEMBLE

Chalon Ragsdale & Fernando Valencia, directors Christopher Scherer, percussion logistics coordinator

7:30pm, Monday, November 6, 2023 Jim & Joyce Faulkner Performing Arts Center University of Arkansas

PROGRAM

White Knuckle Stroll (2010)

Casey Cangelosi (b. 1982) Thomas Baker, marimba

Trap Door (2015)

Ralph Hicks (b. 1983) Members of the MUED 1371 Class Percussion

Edelma (1937)

Terig Tucci (1897-1973) Arr. by Fernando Valencia

Toccata for Percussion Ensemble (1954)

Carlos Chavez (1899-1978)

- I. Allegro
- II. Largo
- III. Allegro, un poco marziale Conducted by Fernando Valencia

INTERMISSION

Bolero (1931)

Eustacio Rosales (1875-1934), arr. C.O. Musser U of A Alumni Percussion Ensemble

Character No. 2

Casey Cangelosi Benjamin Wheeler, Marimba

Abendlied (1839-1901)

Josef Rheinberger (1839-1901), arr. Yoshio Yamashita Conducted by Yoshio Yamashita

Crown of Thorns

David Maslanka (1943-2017)

PERSONNEL

University of Arkansas Percussion Ensemble

Thomas Baker

Cori Fincher

Jacob Hughes

Jillian Mills

Mackenzie O'Neal

Alexis Ogilvie

Lucy Mae Rousseau

Joseph Sheely

Tzeva Sibaja

Ezra Taylor

Aubrey Turner

Benjamin Wheeler

Yoshio Yamashita

Bryson Yeager

University of Arkansas Alumni Percussion Ensemble

Matt Brusca

Cori Fincher

Lynn Francis

Amy Hinkson

Christian Leon

Kelsey Petet Nick Soderquist Collette Soriano Kelby Taylor Paxton Taylor

MUED 1371 Class Members

Daniel Bartley
Denis Carranza
Rae Evans
Adelynn Franklin
Evan Goforth
Aaron Gowin
Chloe Harder
Jaxon Krueger
Ashton Laurent
Emmi Miller
Sebastian Miranda-Morales
Nathan Steinmuller
Titus Sutterfield
Jacob Werfelmann

Benjamin Wheeler