UArkMusic

CONTENTS

text that is bolded and underlined is a hyperlink or bookmark that can be clicked or tapped for more information

View the program

Personnel

Upcoming events

Your support matters

STAY CONNECTED

Sign up for newsletter

find us on social media

Facebook

Instagram

Threads

YouTube

ABOUT MUSIC

The University of Arkansas is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Music and the Department of Music is housed within the Fulbright College of Arts & Sciences.

Home to over 300 music students and fifty faculty members, we offer a variety of degree programs at the undergraduate and graduate levels.

Department faculty and students perform over 400 concerts per year, on and off campus. Large concerts are performed at the 600-seat Faulkner Performing Arts Center that opened in 2015. Chamber and solo recitals are primarily presented at the 200seat Stella Boyle Smith Concert Hall, which began a full renovation December 2022 and should reopen in spring 2025.

For more information, find us on social media or contact us at (479) 575-4701, email us at **music@uark.edu**, or visit **music.uark.edu**.





Download accessible version of this program

JAZZ COMBO CONCERT Intermediate Jazz Combo & Advanced Jazz Combo

5:00 p.m., Tuesday, November 5, 2024 Fayetteville Public Library 401 W. Mountain St. Fayetteville, AR 72701

PROGRAM

Beauty and the Beast

Wayne Shorter (1933-2023) Ryan Montemayor, alto saxophone Joshua Caperton, trombone Beck Oneill, bass

Misty

Erroll Garner (1921-1977) Joshua Caperton, trombone Ryan Montemayor, alto saxophone Dylan Brown, piano

Merry-Go-Round of Life

Joe Hisaishi (b. 1950) Arr. Kyle Telgemeier Dylan Brown, piano

Some Skunk Funk

Randy Brecker (b. 1945) Ryan Montemayor, alto saxophone Kyle Telgemeier, bass

We'll Meet Again

Ross Parker (1914-1974) and Hughie Charles (1907-1995) Arr. Joshua Caperton Joshua Caperton, trombone Beck Oneill, bass Andrew Weidman, drums

But Not For Me

George Gershwin (1898-1937) and Ira Gershwin (1896-1983) Arr. Joshua Caperton Joshua Caperton, trombone Ryan Montemayor, alto saxophone Beck Oneill, bass Andrew Weidman, drums

Maiden Voyage

Herbie Hancock (b. 1940) Dylan Brown, piano Kyle Telgemeier, bass Beck Oneill, bass Andrew Weidman, drums

INTERMISSION

Blue Trane John Coltrane (1926-1967)

Five Spot After Dark Benny Golson (1929-2024)

Pent-Up House Sonny Rollins (b. 1930)

Day and Night Elvin Jones (1927-2004)

Dat Dere Bobby Timmons (1935-1974)

Evidence Thelonious Monk (1917-1982)

Infant Eyes Wayne Shorter (1933-2023)

Yesterdays Jerome Kern (1885-1945)

PERSONNEL

Advanced Combo

Marco Wimer - bass Kaede Nishita - piano Nick Budimlijah - drums Evan Wood - trombone Jack Lockhart - trumpet Garland Watson - tenor saxophone Will Russel - alto saxophone

Intermediate Combo

Ryan Montemayor - alto saxophone Joshua Caperton - trombone Dylan Brown, piano Kyle Telgemeier, bass Beck Oneill, bass Andrew Weidman, drums