UArkMusic

CONTENTS

text that is bolded and underlined is a hyperlink or bookmark that can be clicked or tapped for more information

View the program

Personnel

Upcoming events

Your support matters

STAY CONNECTED

Sign up for newsletter

find us on social media

<u>Facebook</u>

<u>Instagram</u>

Twitter

YouTube

ABOUT MUSIC

The University of Arkansas is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Music and the Department of Music is housed within the Fulbright College of Arts & Sciences.

Home to over 300 music students and fifty faculty members, we offer a variety of degree programs at the undergraduate and graduate levels.

Department faculty and students perform over 400 concerts per year, on and off campus. Large concerts are performed at the 600-seat Faulkner Performing Arts Center that opened in 2015. Chamber and solo recitals are primarily presented at the 200-seat Stella Boyle Smith Concert Hall, which is slated for a full renovation starting December 2022.

For more information, find us on social media or contact us at (479) 575-4701, email us at **music@uark.edu**, or visit **music.uark.edu**.



UArkMusic-

Download accessible copy of this program

JAZZ FESTIVAL: UA JAZZ ORCHESTRA

Dr. Rick Salonen, director

7:30pm, Wednesday, April 17th, 2024 Jim & Joyce Faulkner Performing Arts Center University of Arkansas

PROGRAM

Take The "A" Train

Billy Strayhorn arr. Don Sebesky soloist: Caulder Toland / Jack Lockhart / Freeman Boatright

Blue Ray

Papo Va'zquez arr. Papo Va'zquez soloist: Daniel Csege / Jack Lockhart

Lonnie's Lament

John Coltrane arr. Conrad Herwig soloist: Aldolfo Hernandez / Kyra Brockhausen / Jacob Sasser / Jaxon Krueger

Long Yellow Road

Toshiko Akiyoshi

soloist: Evan Gassaway / Jack Lockhart

Lingus

Snarky Puppy arr. Rick Salonen soloist: Lucas Durnhofer / Dylan Wenino / Freeman Boatright

INTERMISSION

Poltergeists and Moonbeams

Lennie Niehaus soloist: Lucas Durnhofer / Freeman Boatright

Caravan

Juan Tizol arr. Papo Va'zquez soloist: Aldolfo Hernandez / Evan Wood

Perdido

Juan Tizol arr. Rayburn Wright soloist: Evan Wood / Lucas Durnhofer

Untitled No. 5

Kendrick Lamar / Miles Davis soloist: Evan Wood / Logan Zink / Cole Birmingham

Minuano

Pat Metheny soloist: Dylan Wenino

Yaleo

Carlos Santana arr. Rick Salonen soloist: Erika Borgeson / Freeman Boatright / Cole Birmingham

PERSONNEL

Evan Gassaway, alto sax Logan Zink, alto sax Lucas Durnhofer, tenor sax Benji Contreras-Cruz, tenor sax Adolfo Hernandez, bari sax

Jack Lockhart, trumpet Kyra Brockhausen, trumpet Erika Borgeson, trumpet Armando Gutierrez, trumpet

Evan Wood, trombone Jacob Sasser, trombone Daniel Csege, trombone Caulder Toland, trombone

Dylan Wenino, guitar Cole Birmingham, guitar Freeman Boatright, piano Marco Wimer, bass Nick Budimlija, drums Jaxon Krueger, percussion

return to top