UArkMusic

CONTENTS

text that is bolded and underlined is a hyperlink or bookmark that can be clicked or tapped for more information

View the program

Personnel

Upcoming events

Your support matters

STAY CONNECTED

Sign up for newsletter

find us on social media

Facebook

Instagram

Twitter

YouTube

ABOUT MUSIC

The University of Arkansas is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Music and the Department of Music is housed within the Fulbright College of Arts & Sciences.

Home to over 300 music students and fifty faculty members, we offer a variety of degree programs at the undergraduate and graduate levels.

Department faculty and students perform over 400 concerts per year, on and off campus. Large concerts are performed at the 600-seat Faulkner Performing Arts Center that opened in 2015. Chamber and solo recitals are primarily presented at the 200-seat Stella Boyle Smith Concert Hall, which is slated for a full renovation starting December 2022.

For more information, find us on social media or contact us at (479) 575-4701, email us at music@uark.edu, or visit music.uark.edu.



UArkMusic-

Download accessible copy of this program

SIGNS OF SPRING Schola Cantorum & Collegiate Chorus

Dr. Stephen Caldwell, director John Kimita Njenga, graduate director Lisa Auten, piano

7:30pm, Thursday, March 7th, 2024 Jim & Joyce Faulkner Performing Arts Center University of Arkansas

PROGRAM

Collegiate Chorale

John Kimita Njenga, graduate conductor

This is my commandment

Thomas Tallis (1505-1585)

Come, heavy sleepe

John Dowland (1562-1626)

Hush! Somebody's Callin' My Name

Trad. Spiritual Arr. Brazeal Dennard

Msaada Wangu!

J.K. Njenga

Safari Ya Bamba

Giriama Folk Song Arr. Arthur Kemoli

INTERMISSION

Schola Cantorum Dr. Stephen Caldwell, director Lisa Auten, piano

Lukulukutelo

Pökot Warrior Song, Arr. Muyale Inzai, Njenga, Chegge, Caldwell J.K. Njenga, graduate conductor

Il bianco e dolce cigno

Jacques Arcadelt (1507-1568) Gabriel Blotor, graduate conductor

Weathers

Florence Price (1887-1953)

Wander-Thirst

Florence Price (1887-1953)

Carmina Burana

Carl Orff (1895-1982)

- 1. O Fortuna
- 2. Fortune plango vulnera
- 5. Ecce gratum

PROGRAM NOTES

Lukulukutelo

Let's all move together to tell a story Koyon, close your shop and get ready to fight! Chesut, don't be ignorant of our plight, fight for us!

Il bianco e dolce cigno

The white and sweet swan dies singing, and I, weeping, reach the end of my life. Strange and different fate, that he dies disconsolate and I die a blessed death, which in dying fills me full of joy and desire. If in dying, were I to feel no other pain, I would be content to die a thousand deaths a day.

Msaada Wangu

I lift my eyes to the mountains, Where does my help come from?

My help comes from the Lord, the sun will not harm you by day, nor the moon by night. The Lord will keep you from all harm. He will watch over your life; The Lord will watch over your coming and going, both now and forever.

Safari Ya Bamba

The journey to Bamba is tomorrow.

Let us prepare both psychologically and physically because the journey to Bamba is not for the faint.

The journey ahead of us isn't smooth but with perseverance and determination, we shall reach there and be proud we did.

PERSONNEL

SOPRANO

Rachel Breitsenstein Channing Burton Emily Cross Gabriela Gomez Anna Hoang Rebekah Holland Shay Mac Abby McDonald Anna Morrison Thi Nguyen Samantha Petch Abbie Petersen Jazlin Redding **ALTO**

Kenna Couch Sonja Burnett Auroa Campbell Haley Evans Tori Fernandez Zane Liu Erin Nelson Annabelle Ridlon Frankie Riggs Samantha Sanders Rowan Shivers Olive Shuffield Megan Snively Day Stoker Lucie Taylor Jayita Uijaini Shevla Valtierra Olivia Wilson

TENOR

Maddox Calicchia Ryan Davis Ian Garrett Seth Huteson Noah Linkin Mason Mabry Nick Mabry Tyler Phillips Nick Watkins **BASS**

Greg Aliano
D'Shawn Brown
Jesse Coppick
Nathan Dunlap
Brayden Hartwig
Alex Hoang
Nathan Leder
Oliver Owings
Hazel Rivers
Landon Robinson
Carter McCormick
Nathan Steinmuller
Ezra Taylor
Mateo West

SOPRANO

Nathalie Arias
Emma Breaux
Kalista Brown
Emma Davis
Crystal Espinoza
Leah Foster
Isabel Fuentes
Brooklyne Goad
Sadie Hilton
Karley Jones
Lillie Large
Isabelle Pennick
Emma Price
Lauren Ramsey
Emma Scott

Rachel Willett

ALTO

Madeleine Amox
Samara Crouse
Helem Gomez-Jimenez
Avery Hamlin
Ashlyn Hodge
Idaly Jimenez
Mia Johnson
Lauren Laundhardt
Lizbeth Lopez
Alyssa Martinez
Ashton Morren
Valeria Quintanilla
Ashley Trotter
Amy Underwood
Talina Woods

Alison Young

TFNOR

Luke Burnside
Garrett Cash
Nathan Edwards
Daniel Fox
Alexander Garcia
Ian Gelicame
Avery Golz
Connor Gustafson
Austin Letterman
Gavin Miller
Jose Rodriguez
Jagger Thompson
Brennan Wilkins
Kevin Willis

BASS

Gabriel Blotor
Jackson Cawthon
Gawain Engholm
Ryan Gay
Evan Goforth
Cole Jackson
David Lykins
Sam Messick
James Morningstar
John Kimita Njenga
William Oliver
Matt Sandusky
Edwin Soto
Titus Sutterfield