Prospective Students

Undergraduate Students seeking a Music Degree
(Click here for Graduate Admission Information)

Thank you for your interest in our undergraduate music programs at the University of Arkansas!  We appreciate the time, talent, and energy you and your support team have devoted to making the important decision of pursuing a music degree.   For answers as you continue the admission process, please contact our undergraduate advising coordinator, Stan Morris, at 479-575-3325 or music@uark.edu.

Please note that all students wishing to enroll as music majors  must complete two applications, a University of Arkansas application and a Department of Music application. 

Step 1: Apply to the University

All first year students, transfer students, and international students must be admitted to both the University of Arkansas and to the Music Department. Complete the appropriate University of Arkansas application found on the Office of Admissions web page.

Step 2: Apply to the Music Department

Complete the Department of Music, Music Major Application.

Students may start their application for admission to the Music Department prior to being admitted to the University of Arkansas.  However, acceptance as a degree seeking music major is contingent upon admission to the University of Arkansas.

Step 3: Audition

To complete the application process you must schedule an on-campus audition with the appropriate music faculty.

Audition Requirements and Scheduling Auditions:

 

Exceptions to On-Campus Auditions
Candidates who live a great distance from campus may submit a recording of the audition repertoire. Please contact the appropriate area (follow the links above) for more information.

Visiting the Music Department
Contact Rachel Gerner, Music Office Room 201, (479) 575-4702 or email music@uark.edu.



Graduate Student Admissions

Step 1: Apply to the graduate school

Students seeking admission to graduate level studies in music should first apply online to the University of Arkansas Graduate School.

Letters of Recommendation: Please have three letters of recommendation sent to the Department of Music Chair.

Dr. Ronda Mains
University of Arkansas
Department of Music
201 MUSC
Fayetteville, AR 72701

Do I need to take the GRE?
The GRE is not required for admission to graduate studies in music. The graduate school may require a standardized test score if your GPA is below 3.0.

Step 2: Music Audition/Interview

Click here to view the graduate audition requirements.

Contact the Department of Music to schedule an audition/interview. Department of Music Phone: 479-575-4701

Stephen Caldwell, Choral
stephenc@uark.edu, 479-575-3141, Room 331

Paulo Eskitch, Viola
peskitch@uark.edu, Room 303

Eddie Jones, Voice
edjones@uark.edu, 479-575-5760, Room 332

Jura Margulis, Piano
margulis@uark.edu, 479-575-4178, Room 206

Er-Gene Kahng, Violin
ekahng@uark.edu, 479-575-6270, Room 231
String Audition Information

Stephen Gates, Cello
sgates@uark.edu, 479-575-5764, Room 314

Jim Greeson, Guitar
jgreeson@uark.edu, 479-575-4190, Room 108

Chalon Ragsdale, Percussion
ragsdale@uark.edu, 479-575-5838, Band Building

Ronda Mains, Flute
rmains@uark.edu, 479-575-5765, Room 201

Mike Montgomery, Bass
lourdesm12@aol.com, Room 303

Theresa Delaplain, Oboe
delaplai@uark.edu, 479-575-6385, Room 205

Nophachai Cholthitchanta, Clarinet
nc@uark.edu, 479-575-5850, Room 313

Stan Morris, Saxophone
morriss@uark.edu, 479-575-3325, Room 325

Lia Uribe, Bassoon
luribe@uark.edu, 479-575-4138, Room 109

Richard Rulli, Trumpet
rrulli@uark.edu, 479-575-6383, Room 215

Timothy Thompson, French horn
tthomp@uark.edu, 479-575-5762, Room 340

Cory Mixdorf, Trombone
cmixdorf@uark.edu, 479-575-6302, Room 225

Benjamin Pierce, Euphonium/tuba
Bjp02@uark.edu, 479-575-4197, Room 226

Stay Connected...

facebook Twitter Flickr RSS Feed YouTube


525 Old Main
University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, Arkansas 72701