Prospective Students

Undergraduate Student Admissions (Click here for Graduate Admission Information)

Step 1: Apply to the University

New freshman and undergraduate transfer students first need to apply to the University of Arkansas for admission.

Step 2: Apply to the Music Department

A student who would like to pursue studies leading to a degree in music must be admitted to both the University of Arkansas and to the Music Department. Admission to the Music Department is by application and audition.

Complete an application and mail it to the Music Department. Then contact the appropriate area to schedule an audition (See Step 3 Below).                             

Application for Prospective Music Majors and Non-majors (pdf)

Return the completed form to:

                University of Arkansas
                Department of Music
                201 Music Building
                Fayetteville, AR 72701

A student may start their application for admission to the Music Department prior to admission to the University, but final acceptance to the Music Department is contingent upon admission to the University of Arkansas.

Step 3: Audition

All prospective music students need to audition on campus, including transfer students, students interested in pursuing a music minor, and students who will not pursue studies in music, but who wish to participate in an ensemble during their time at the University of Arkansas.

Audition Requirements and Scheduling Auditions:

  • Winds/Brass/Percussion: To schedule an audition contact Connie Vick at (479) 575-7221.
  • Voice: If you have questions, please contact Dr. Eddie Jones, Head of the Vocal Studies program, at (479) 575-5760.
  • Strings: To schedule an audition please contact Dr. Er-Gene Kahng, ekahng@uark.edu
  • Piano: To schedule an audition please contact Professor Jura Margulis,  (479) 575-4178 or margulis@uark.edu

 

Exceptions to On-Campus Auditions
Candidates who live a great distance from campus may submit a recording of the audition repertoire. Please contact the appropriate area (follow the links above) for more information.

Visiting the Music Department
Contact Rachel Collins, Music Office Room 201, (479) 575-4702 or email rec004@uark.edu



Graduate Student Admissions

Step 1: Apply to the graduate school

Students seeking admission to graduate level studies in music should first apply online to the University of Arkansas Graduate School.

Letters of Recommendation: Please have three letters of recommendation sent to the Department of Music Chair.

Dr. Ronda Mains
University of Arkansas
Department of Music
201 MUSC
Fayetteville, AR 72701

Do I need to take the GRE?
The GRE is not required for admission to graduate studies in music. The graduate school may require a standardized test score if your GPA is below 3.0.

Step 2: Music Audition/Interview

Click here to view the graduate audition requirements.

Contact the Department of Music to schedule an audition/interview. Department of Music Phone: 479-575-4701

Stephen Caldwell, Choral
stephenc@uark.edu, 479-575-3141, Room 331

Paulo Eskitch, Viola
peskitch@uark.edu, Room 303

Eddie Jones, Voice
edjones@uark.edu, 479-575-5760, Room 332

Jura Margulis, Piano
margulis@uark.edu, 479-575-4178, Room 206

Er-Gene Kahng, Violin
ekahng@uark.edu, 479-575-6270, Room 231
String Audition Information

Stephen Gates, Cello
sgates@uark.edu, 479-575-5764, Room 314

Jim Greeson, Guitar
jgreeson@uark.edu, 479-575-4190, Room 108

Chalon Ragsdale, Percussion
ragsdale@uark.edu, 479-575-5838, Band Building

Ronda Mains, Flute
rmains@uark.edu, 479-575-5765, Room 201

Mike Montgomery, Bass
lourdesm12@aol.com, Room 303

Theresa Delaplain, Oboe
delaplai@uark.edu, 479-575-6385, Room 205

Nophachai Cholthitchanta, Clarinet
nc@uark.edu, 479-575-5850, Room 313

Stan Morris, Saxophone
morriss@uark.edu, 479-575-3325, Room 325

Lia Uribe, Bassoon
luribe@uark.edu, 479-575-4138, Room 109

Richard Rulli, Trumpet
rrulli@uark.edu, 479-575-6383, Room 215

Timothy Thompson, French horn
tthomp@uark.edu, 479-575-5762, Room 340

Cory Mixdorf, Trombone
cmixdorf@uark.edu, 479-575-6302, Room 225

Benjamin Pierce, Euphonium/tuba
Bjp02@uark.edu, 479-575-4197, Room 226

Stay Connected...

facebook Twitter Flickr RSS Feed YouTube


525 Old Main
University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, Arkansas 72701